top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan Pallesen

C++ and C# - Network Programming


Recently, I've undertaken a task to do some basic network programming in C++ using RakNet. Though there have been some linker issues, as C++ is want to do, it's been fairly straightforward. Learning about Dead Reckoning and other ways of networking optimization beforehand was incredibly useful. I've already re-implemented some of the core designs in a C# Prototype using Unity with Mirror Networking. Mirror Networking handles a lot of things for you that I had to think much more about with RakNet, such as message IDs, Dead Reckoning, Lag Handling, Updating Object positions, Connecting to and from a server and client.


I'm looking forward to learning more about networking overall, and implementing many of the technical algorithms and designs I've learnt about in theory.

bottom of page