top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan Pallesen

C++ OpenGL - Custom Phong Lighting

I did some work on lighting, using a basic 'Phong' shader, though it only supports a single light, I found it really interesting to learn about the maths behind lighting. As you can see below, the lighting is a bit strange and leaves the model very very smooth, but this is because I have yet to implement textures and normal maps!


One of the first things I did to personalize this was to include some ambient lighting in darkened portions before continuing on to add specular highlights and reflections, along with redoing the colouration of the light to look a bit nicer. Below we can see the stanford 'Lucy' model with specular highlights and a nice blue coloured light, reminiscent of the statue of liberty.

I've decided against attempting multiple light sources for these models, and instead opted to continue on into normal maps and materials.

bottom of page